For Mushroom Lovers Only: Roasted Bluefoot Mushrooms

As I wrote about over on Eat to Blog, bluefoot mushrooms seems to have a concentrated, earthy mushrooms flavor. I found some for sale at a local market, and picked up about a half pound despite the exorbitant price. I figured simplest was best, and so I preheated my cast iron pan in a 450 degree oven, and sliced the bluefoots in half (the larger ones I sliced into quarters). Then I tossed them in olive oil with some kosher salt and some Greek herbs my parents brought back for me from their Mediterranean cruise. I laid them out onto the hot pan and let them cook for about 20 minutes before checking on them. They were browned and cooked through, but not quite where I wanted them, so I let them cook for another 5-7 minutes so the edges crisped up. Then I served them over ciabatta with a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. Roasting the mushrooms concentrated their flavor even more — they were wonderful, but then again I really like mushrooms. This simple technique would probably work with other types of mushrooms, just keep an eye on them because the cooking times may vary.

This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Mushroom Lovers Only: Roasted Bluefoot Mushrooms

  1. What species are the bluefoot mushrooms you’re writing about? Common names are very ambiguous (and lead to poisoning). Is this Lepista nuda, a.k.a. the blewitt? That one certainly has a blue stalk and blue gills. It grows in Marine Park in Brooklyn, in Nov.

    If you’d like to write about the best Brooklyn vegetarian foods, you might want to attend my foraging tours. Please visit http://www.wildmanstevebrill.com. I’m America’s go-to guy for foraging, and you’ll have lots of fun exploring wild foods.

    Happy Foraging!

    • @Wildman – i’ve actually taken your tour several times now, and one of those times we did find mushrooms. giant puffballs and honey mushrooms, not bluefoots. i got this one from a mushroom farmer i know, so i was confident it wasn’t poisonous. thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

