Roasted Cauliflower With Tomatoes, Olives, And Artichokes

In case you didn’t know it, cauliflower is well in season right now. I picked up a beautiful head of cauliflower the other day, and here’s what I did with it:

First I cut it in half, because it was a very big head of cauliflower, and stored half of it in the fridge. The half I was using I cut into large chunks, including some of the leaves, and dropped them into my cast iron pan. Then I drizzled it with olive oil and sprinkled it with salt, and put the pan into the oven, which I had preheated to 450 degrees. After about 40 minutes it had started to brown, so I used my tongs to make some room in the center of the pan and added a bunch of late season yellow grape tomatoes. Then I put it back into the oven for about 15 minutes. Then I stirred it up with the tongs, and added some pitted kalamata olives and some quartered marinated artichokes (left over from my parents’ Yom Kippur break-fast). Then I let that cook for another 15 minutes or so, pulled it out of the oven, and squeezed a fresh lemon over it. The result was a simple but flavorful dish, which you could eat as-is or turn into a pasta sauce. Go get some cauliflower and try it for yourself. Even if you don’t think cauliflower has any flavor (which isn’t true), the addition of the olive and lemon will give it a lot more punch.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

