Vegetarian Ramen At Ganso

In my quest for vegetarian ramen here in Brooklyn I’ve only come across one that I can truly call great: Chuko’s Market Veggie Ramen. I’ve had it a few times now and it’s always stunning. Other vegetarian ramens have weak broths, or broths with funky flavors, or there’s some flaw that makes it off-putting. I even went so far as to make my own vegetarian ramen at home, which is pretty great (if I do say so myself). Ganso, in Downtown Brooklyn, is the only vegetarian ramen I’ve had here in Brooklyn that comes close to touching Chuko. Made with a shiitake and soy milk base, the Yasai Ramen’s broth is thick and flavorful. It’s a little too salty, which is unfortunate because the fried tofu in the broth is also too salty. On my visit there were kernels of sweet corn, which helped balance it a little bit, and the greens and scallions were able to cut through the saltiness some. If they just dialed back the salt a little bit, I think Ganso could enter the realm of great vegetarian ramen that eludes so many.

Ganso — 25 Bond St

This entry was posted in downtown brooklyn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegetarian Ramen At Ganso

  1. Shinobi in Bushwick has really great veggie tan tan. I’d try that for sure.

  2. Jessa says:

    Although not in Brooklyn, Terakawa Ramen in Midtown West (58th/9th Ave) has an amazing version of this creamy broth which is rich and almost slightly sweet. It’s loaded with fresh vegetables for an interesting change. I, too, was on the quest for the perfect veggie ramen, and their one offering delivered! Zuzu Ramen (4th ave, Brooklyn) has what I think is the best Ramen in Brooklyn with their Garlic Soy Ramen. Unfortunately, they make their noodles with egg instead of kansui, so it’s not vegan. :( The picture you posted looks delish. I suppose you didn’t share your salty comment with them?!

Leave a Reply

