Vegetarian Sushi at Geido

A few weeks ago I was out with my friends Donny, Scott, and Steph, and we were trying to figure out where to eat. Someone suggested Geido, and everyone immediately agreed. I had never heard of Geido, though apparently it’s been around since 1985 and is a neighborhood favorite. My friends were concerned that there might not be enough vegetarian food for me, but I knew better. It is a common misconception that sushi = raw fish. In point of fact, raw fish is sashimi, just one component of sushi. I was hoping they had inari, rice wrapped in a sweet tofu skin, but no such luck. I went with (from bottom to top) the oshinko roll, the avocado and cucumber roll, and the spicy vegetable roll (all under $5 each). I’m so used to prepackaged sushi, it’s been a while since I had sushi that was so freshly made. The rice was still slightly warm, and nicely seasoned. My favorite was the oshinko, which is a Japanese pickle, but all of it was good.

Geido — 331 Flatbush Ave

This entry was posted in prospect heights and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

