King Oyster Mushroom “Bacon”

When my friend Chitra featured my rye bread recipe on her blog, ABCD’s of Cooking, she mentioned that on this blog I write about cooking. The truth is that I meant to, but I have not yet done so. So here’s a really simple technique to make faux bacon, using king oyster mushrooms. King oyster mushrooms are quite fibrous, so they actually react a lot like meat when you cook them. Here I sliced them thin, vertically, and laid them in a preheated cast iron pan. Then I sprinkled the slices with olive oil, salt and pepper, and cooked them in a 400 degree oven for about thirty minutes. The result: they get crunchy but still stay chewy, and they pick up some smoky flavor from the pan. I ate them as is, but they’d be great on a sandwich or with some scrambled eggs. It’s so simple I’m ashamed to call it a “recipe”.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

