Breakfast At Seersucker

Seersucker in Carroll Gardens serves breakfast all day long, which in my book is the mark of a classy joint. I stopped by around lunchtime last week, but instead of ordering from the lunch menu I got some breakfast. Wouldn’t you? I got the sweet potato & hominy hash, which is topped with two eggs cooked any way you like. Hominy, if you’re not familiar, is dried corn treated with lime (calcium hydroxide, not the citrus fruit). This process allows the vitamin B in the corn to be easily absorbed by the body, and also makes the corn kernels swell up and soften when cooked. The sweet potatoes and the hominy made a great combo; I got my eggs over medium and when I cut into them the bright orange yolks ran out and coated everything. I added a few squirts of hot sauce, which made the dish even better. I may return to Seersucker to try the dinner menu, but there are still plenty of breakfast dishes I want to try there.

Seersucker — 329 Smith St

This entry was posted in carroll gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breakfast At Seersucker

  1. Sara says:

    I went for dinner on your recommendation and really liked what I had, the summer vegetable fricasse. The portion could have been a little bit bigger, but, other than that, I have no complaints. I also went to Talde on your recommendation a few weeks ago and LOVED the vegetarian yuzu guacolmole. I’m glad I found your site.

Leave a Reply

