The Farm Bowl At Karloff

It’s been over three years since I last visited Karloff, an Eastern European restaurant on Court St. I’ve always meant to go back, but somehow time kept on slipping… Anyway, back in September they tweeted at me about trying their kasha. Having grown up a descendent of Eastern European Jews I’m very familiar with kasha, but in case you don’t know kasha is buckwheat groats. What’s a groat? I had to look that up myself. According to Wikipedia, groats “are the hulled kernels of various cereal grains such as oat, wheat, and rye. Groats are whole grains that include the cereal germ and fiber-rich bran portion of the grain as well as the endosperm.” So there you go.

On a recent chilly November day I found myself craving Eastern European food but I didn’t want to go out to Brighton Beach. Karloff seemed like the natural alternative. I order the Farm Bowl, a combination of two things I was in the mood for: the above mentioned kasha (gluten free, if you care about such things) and their (vegan) kale and collard greens soup. The soup, a deep dark green color, was surprisingly light and fresh tasting. The kasha was flavored with herbs, and the chewy texture made a nice textural counterpoint to the soup. It was the ideal dish for the weather, both hearty and vibrant.

Karloff — 254 Court St

This entry was posted in cobble hill and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

