Vegan Ital Cuisine At Strictly Vegetarian

Off of the southeastern end of Prospect park you’ll find a ton of Jamaican and Caribbean restaurants and bakeries. Strictly Vegetarian, on Church Ave, serves vegan food in the tradition of Ital cuisine, the Rastafarian tradition of eating only “pure” foods (the name is a derivation of the word “vital,” and has noting to do with Italian food). They make different dishes every day, and you don’t really have any control over what you get. You order a small, medium, or large plate, and the server will pile up a little bit of everything they have that day. I ordered a medium plate, which sounded like a good idea, but it turned out to be waaaaay to much food for one person. “I thought you knew what you were doing!” said the server, when I mentioned the enormous portion. “So did I,” was my reply. Among other things I sampled some rice & beans, kale with onions, and a few different types of wheat gluten stewed with veggies. Some of it was a little underseasoned, but the good stuff was really good.

As I stopped to take a photo a woman walking by outside came into the restaurant. “I was going to ask why you were taking a picture of your food,” she sad. “But now that I see it I understand. It’s so beautiful!” She walked over to the server. “I’ve never been here before,” she said, “but I’ll be back for lunch.”

2268 Church Ave

This entry was posted in flatbush and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan Ital Cuisine At Strictly Vegetarian

  1. Pingback: Vegan Jamaican At Four Seasons | brooklyn vegetarian

Leave a Reply

