Roasted Mushrooms and Cauliflower Over Rice

Last winter I wrote about the joys of simple roasting, and now that the weather has taken a turn for the colder I thought it was time to revisit the idea.

I cut some shiitake mushrooms into halves, and quartered some creminis. I tossed them with olive oil, salt, and pepper, and added them to a pre-heated pan in the oven at 450 degrees. While they cooked I cut a quarter of a cauliflower into large chunks, and tossed it with the same seasoned oil. After about 20 minutes the mushrooms were crispy on one side, and more importantly they had shrunk enough to make room for the cauliflower. I moved the mushrooms to one side and added the cauliflower to the pan. I checked on the over every 15 minutes or so, turning the cauliflower and mushrooms as they browned.

When everything was browned and the cauliflower cooked through, I removed the pan from the oven. I let it cool for about two minutes before squeezing the juice of a fresh lemon over it. There was enough residual heat in the pan to make the lemon juice sizzle, but not immediately evaporate. I let it cool for another few minutes and then served the mushrooms and cauliflower over rice.

It’s a dish that celebrates the joys of simplicity; everything is perfectky cooked, and perfectly seasoned, and there is nothing missing. It wasn’t until I was almost finished eating that I even realized that this was a completely vegan meal.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

