Vegetarian At Pies ‘n’ Thighs

Many many years ago Donny and I stopped by Pies ‘n’ Thighs for a few slices of pie. I was underwhelmed at the time, and since I don’t eat fried chicken I never went back. But this past weekend I met up with some family to celebrate a cousin’s birthday, so now I’ve eaten an actual meal there. They don’t really have any vegetarian entrees, but they have something called the Superbowl. When you order the Superbowl you get to choose three side dishes and choose either a biscuit or cornbread. Not all of the sides are vegetarian, but there are enough to cobble together an enormous meal. I went with the hot sauce-tinged mac & cheese, hushpuppies, and the black-eyed pea salad. I also chose a biscuit, on the advice of our server. The black-eyed peas were doused with a vinegar dressing, which was great for cutting through the richness of the other food. My favorite part of the plate was actually the biscuit, once it had been slathered in honey butter. We also had some pies, and boy have they come a long way. My favorite was the banana cream pie; not too sweet, lots of great banana flavor and plenty of whipped cream. I don’t know if I would recommend Pies ‘n’ Thighs for vegetarians, but I can certainly recommend the pies.

Pies ‘n’ Thighs — 166 S 4th St

This entry was posted in williamsburg and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

