Vegetarian Russian At Slavyanskiy Bazar

I can’t seem to stay away from Russian and Ukrainian restaurants. When my parents asked where to meet up with me and my girlfriend, my first suggestion was Slavyanskiy Bazar. I’d never been there, though I’d been past it many times and I’d heard good things about it. I wasn’t expecting it, but our favorite dishes of the day were the salads: Summer salad made with white radish and cucumbers, Gruzdi (marinated mushrooms) in a sweet vinegar dressing, and the Balkanskiy salad with feta cheese and olives. The cabbage vareniki (above) were better than the potato-mushroom-onion versions, though they paled in comparison to other versions I’ve had. Still, salads were so good I’d definitely go back for more.

Slavyanskiy Bazar — 2013 Coney Island Ave

This entry was posted in midwood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

