Vegan Laksa At The Laksa Shop Pop-Up

About 10 years ago my sister and I went to Singapore and Kuala Lumpur. We had a ton of good food, but I was only able to find vegetarian laksa in one place – the Blue Boy Vegetarian Food Centre in KL. Laksa is a spicy coconut noodle soup, traditionally served with lots of shellfish. I have been searching for a vegetarian version here in NYC for years, with no luck. Then a month or so ago I learned about the Laksa Shop, doing laksa pop-ups around the city. And not only do they have a vegetarian version, but a vegan one. The broth itself is vegan, so they simply omit the egg noodles and hard-boiled egg that is on the vegetarian version. The vegan laksa is nice and spicy, with rice noodles, tofu, Chinese broccoli, and cherry tomatoes in the coconut and mushroom broth. Topped with fresh herbs, fried garlic, and fresh lime, it was a delicious bowl. They also gave me a free bag of popcorn, spice with Mama Lam‘s vegan hot sauce.

I washed it all down with a pint of a Wild East lager made with rice, which they call Triumph, which helped cool my mouth from the spice of my meal.

Check the Laksa Shop schedule for future events, and follow them on Instagram.
Wild East — 623 Sackett St

This entry was posted in gowanus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Vegan Laksa At The Laksa Shop Pop-Up

  1. Pingback: Secret Vegan Kitchen At Wild East Brewing | brooklyn vegetarian

Leave a comment