Meze At Miriam

Although Park Slope isn’t known as a food destination, there are a few restaurants that do get mentioned as being quite good. Stone Park Cafe is one (that I love), Al Di La is another (that I think is overrated). Also on that list is Miriam, a restaurant serving Israeli food. The best deal is to order from the meze (small plates) menu, which are $3.50 each or 4 for $12. I went with my parents, and we all ordered different things, so we got a good sampling of the menu. It was all very good, the standouts being: roasted, marinated beets slathered in green tahini; spanikopita livened up with bits of olive inside; zucchini cakes with yogurt sauce; and tangy labne cheese with olive oil. I hadn’t intended to eat any dessert, having filled up on the meze, but after I had a bite of my dad’s molten chocolate cake I couldn’t stop eating it. It’s one of the best desserts I’ve eaten in a long time. It’s not particularly Israeli, but who cares?

Miriam — 79 5th Ave

This entry was posted in park slope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meze At Miriam

  1. kim says:

    I really wanted to try this place! I’ve heard the hummus is quite good. Have you tried? šŸ™‚

Leave a comment